Alice Asks the Big Questions (Hardcover)

Alice Asks the Big Questions Cover Image
By Laurent Gounelle, Sandra Smith (Translated by)
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For readers who love A Man Called Ove and the works of Alain de Botton comes the story of how a young woman's project to help a friend launches her on a journey of self-discovery, from international bestselling author Lauren Gounelle.

Alice is very good at her job. She's on the rise at a prominent PR firm, and there is no image-management disaster she can't fix. But when her dearest friend, a parish priest in a charming French village, becomes depressed about his dwindling number of parishioners, she may finally have met her biggest challenge.
Though an avowed atheist, Alice is determined to apply her skills to the problem. She plunges into research, immersing herself in the world of spirituality, from Christianity to Hinduism, from self-empowerment seminars to the Tao Te Ching.
In her quest to understand how thinkers through the centuries have tried to answer the age-old questions of existence, Alice uncovers an astonishing truth--almost lost to time--that will forever change the way she thinks about humankind's place in the universe, and her own.
In this moving and captivating novel, Laurent Gounelle takes us on a journey of spiritual and intellectual discovery that is sure to surprise and enlighten.

About the Author


Laurent Gounelle is an internationally renowned and bestselling author whose books have been translated into twenty-five languages. He is a personal development specialist who trained in humanities at NLP University in Santa Cruz. He lives in France.
Sandra Smith
is the translator of all 12 novels by Irène Némirovsky available in English, as well as a new translation of Camus' L'Etranger (The Outsider, Penguin UK, 2012). Her translation of Némirovsky's Suite Française (2006) won the French-American Foundation and Florence Gould Foundation Translation Prize for fiction, as well as the PEN Book-of-the-Month Club Translation Prize, the first time that the same book has ever won both prizes in the same year. Suite Française also won the Independent British Booksellers Book of the Year prize and was voted Book of the Year by The Times of London.

Praise For…


"Charmingly witty... a story of self-discovery and the power of faith, French novelist Gounelle's latest tackles the big questions behind organized religion, exploring a thoroughly modern solution to a centuries-old problem: How can we better connect with ourselves, our God, and those around us? Neatly packaged and thought-provoking, spiritual without being preachy, this will appeal to fans of Fredrik Backman's A Man Called Ove and Nina George's The Book of Dreams."Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316474146
ISBN-10: 0316474142
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication Date: February 25th, 2020
Pages: 272
Language: English